Deutsch

Calendar

Stage win: FinFisher is bankrupt

2022-03-28 08:45:41, linus

FinFisher, the Munich-based state Trojan exporter, is bankrupt. For over a decade, a wide variety of international groups, including the CCC, have worked toward its end.

A lot has happened since the CCC analyzed the first German state Trojan in 2011. The international community discovered FinFisher FinSpy and NSO Pegasus. Countless analyses, hacks and investigations exposed the internationally active exporters of state-sponsored malware.

A stage win has now been achieved against one of the two companies: The FinFisher business conglomerate is insolvent, and business operations have been completely suspended. The reason for this is the seizure in the context of criminal proceedings due to the circumvention of export controls: FinFisher/FinSpy malware was used against the opposition in Turkey. An export license did not exist.

Export to unjust regimes

The software was also discovered in use in countries such as Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei, Ethiopia, Hungary, Malaysia, Mexico, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. German authorities were of course also customers of the company. Initially, no significant investigative measures followed the criminal complaint filed in July 2019. The German NGO Gesellschaft für Freiheitsrechte therefore asked the CCC to substantiate and extend the evidence provided.

Analysis by the CCC

In late 2019, we published our analysis of 28 versions of the malware (report as PDF), the samples we analyzed, and the analysis tools which can be used to analyze further versions. We confirmed the findings published by Access Now and presented additional evidence. After presenting these findings at the 36th Chaos Communication Congress, we also explained them in person to the German Customs Investigation Bureau and the Munich public prosecutor's office. In October 2020, raids finally took place at more than 15 business and private addresses.

Asset detention and insolvency

Apparently, the suspicions were further substantiated: the public prosecutor's office wanted to secure the assets potentially obtained from an unlawful act by means of an asset freeze in order to be able to confiscate them if necessary. The group of companies escaped seizure through insolvency. The criminal proceedings, on the other hand, are of course continuing and we can be curious about the outcome.

The fight goes on

"The end of FinFisher is not the end of the state Trojan market," says Thorsten Schröder, who conducted the CCC FinSpy analysis together with Linus Neumann. "The employees who are now laid off will look for new jobs - presumably at competitors, who will probably also take over the customer base."

More important than the company going bankrupt, therefore, is a conclusion to the criminal proceedings. "We all hope that the end of FinFisher is just the beginning and that the competitors will also finally face legal and financial consequences," says Linus Neumann.

Thanks to the international community

State Trojans are distributed and developed by large international corporations. Companies like FinFisher, NSO and Co. are being tackled at all thanks to a small, excellent community of international activists, hackers and researchers:

Thanks to the technical expertise of this community, members of this shady industry face problems in gaining social and political acceptance. We would like to take this opportunity to highlight this tireless fight against the digital hydra and thank all researchers for sharing their insights and tools.

We still have a lot of work to do.

English

Calendar

Etappensieg: FinFisher ist pleite

2022-03-28 08:45:41, linus

Der Münchner Staatstrojaner-Exporteur FinFisher ist pleite. Über ein Jahrzehnt haben unterschiedlichste internationale Gruppen, darunter der CCC, auf dessen Ende hingearbeitet.

Seit der CCC im Jahr 2011 den ersten deutschen Staatstrojaner analysierte ist viel passiert. Die internationale Community entdeckte FinFisher FinSpy und NSO Pegasus. Unzählige Analysen, Hacks und Recherchen exponierten die international tätigen Exporteure von Trojaner-Software.

Gegen eines der beiden Unternehmen ist nun ein Etappensieg gelungen: Das FinFisher-Unternehmenskonglomerat ist insolvent, der Geschäftsbetrieb wurde vollständig eingestellt. Anlass ist die Pfändung im Rahmen eines Strafverfahrens wegen der Umgehung von Exportkontrollen: Die Schadsoftware FinFisher/FinSpy wurde in der Türkei gegen die Opposition eingesetzt. Eine Ausfuhrgenehmigung bestand nicht.

Export in Unrechtsregime

Auch in Ländern wie Bahrain, Bangladesch, Brunei, Äthiopien, Ungarn, Malaysia, Mexiko, Katar und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten wurde die Software im Einsatz entdeckt. Doch auch deutsche Behörden waren selbstverständlich Kunde des Unternehmens. Auf die Strafanzeige vom Juli 2019 folgten zunächst keine nennenswerten Ermittlungsmaßnahmen. Die Gesellschaft für Freiheitsrechte bat den CCC daher, die vorgelegten Beweise zu erhärten und zu erweitern.

Analyse des CCC

Ende 2019 veröffentlichten wir daraufhin unsere Analyse von 28 Versionen der Schadsoftware (Bericht als PDF), die analysierten Samples und die Analyse-Tools zur Untersuchung weiterer Versionen. Dabei bestätigten wir die Befunde von Access Now und brachten neue Beweise vor. Nachdem wir diese Ergebnisse beim 36. Chaos Communication Congress präsentiert hatten, erläuterten wir diese auch noch einmal persönlich dem Zollkriminalamt und der Münchener Staatsanwaltschaft. Im Oktober 2020 fanden dann endlich Durchsuchungen an über 15 geschäftlichen und privaten Adressen statt.

Vermögensarrest und Insolvenz

Offenbar erhärtete sich der Verdacht weiter: Durch einen Vermögensarrest wollte die Staatsanwaltschaft das potenziell aus einer rechtswidrigen Tat erlangte Vermögen sichern, um es ggf. einziehen zu können. Der Pfändung entging die Unternehmensgruppe durch Insolvenz. Das Strafverfahren hingegen läuft selbstverständlich weiter und wir können auf das Ergebnis gespannt sein.

Der Kampf geht weiter

„Das Ende von FinFisher ist nicht das Ende des Marktes für Staatstrojaner”, sagt Thorsten Schröder, der die CCC-Analyse der FinSpy-Samples zusammen mit Linus Neumann durchgeführt hat. „Die nun entlassenen Angestellten werden sich neue Jobs suchen – vermutlich bei der Konkurrenz, die wohl auch die Kunden übernehmen wird.”

Wichtiger als die Pleite des Unternehmens ist daher ein Abschluss des Strafverfahrens. „Wir alle hoffen, dass das Ende von FinFisher nur der Anfang ist und auch die Konkurrenz endlich juristische und finanzielle Konsequenzen zu spüren bekommt”, sagt Linus Neumann.

Dank an die internationale Community

Staatstrojaner werden von großen internationalen Konzernen vertrieben und weiterentwickelt. Dass Unternehmen wie FinFisher, NSO und Co. überhaupt zu Leibe gerückt wird, ist einer kleinen, exzellenten Community von internationalen Aktivistinnen, Hackerinnen und Forscherinnen zu verdanken:

Es ist vor allem der technischen Expertise dieser Community zu verdanken, dass Vertreter der Branche es schwer haben, gesellschaftlich und politisch akzeptiert zu werden. Diesen unermüdlichen Kampf gegen die digitale Hydra möchten wir an dieser Stelle hervorheben und uns bei allen Forscherinnen und Forschern dafür bedanken, Erkenntnisse und Werkzeuge zu teilen.

Wir haben noch viel zu tun.