Deutsch

German constitutional court creates new fundamental right to digital privacy

2008-02-27 00:00:00, presse

Today, Germany’s Federal Constitutional Court, the country’s highest court, flatly rejected North Rhine-Westphalia’s Constitutional Protection Act, which is designed to permit the so-called online search of computers and other IT systems.

The Karlsruhe judges made it clear with their decision that the society has a legitimate interest in the confidentiality and integrity of the IT systems it increasingly depends on and that freedom of thought also exists if ideas are stored on to a computer. The Chaos Computer Club (CCC) has been demanding this right to digital privacy for over 25 years. The protection of the digital self not only affects computers but also telephones and other networked devices. We can only hope that the politicians who only know the internet from print-outs don't need another quarter of a century until they have taken this new fundamental right on board, Dirk Engling, the CCC’s spokesman, commented.

The constitutional court judges point out in their oral reasons for the judgement that the systematic tapping of communication data and the creation of personality profiles are serious violations of basic rights. We assume that this judgement will also apply to the constitutional review of the Data Retention Act, Dirk Engling said. Several constitutional complaints have been filed against the data retention that came to effect in January.

The judges have given the lawmakers a slap in the face for allowing all kinds of information systems to be spied on, in contravention of basic rights, Dirk Engling continued. Spying on hard disks will only be possible within strictly defined limits. The Federal Constitutional Court has provided humanity's virtual self with a digital protective shield.

Analysing the data seized will also have to be based on the criteria relating to the new basic right. The investigation authorities’ procedures when collecting evidence by digital means must now be immediately put to the test. The searching of hard disks by private companies, which has recently become commonplace, is therefore clearly unconstitutional. The judges also determined that informational self-protection through encryption is a right that may only be abrogated under very strict conditions.

The Chaos Computer Club once again came to Karlsruhe for the delivery of the judgement with the black, red and gold “Federal Trojan”, which is the symbol of resistance against online searches. The Green Party, which recently attracted negative attention by waving through former interior minister Otto Schily’s “spying laws” and endorsing the ban on hacker tools, tried to demonstrate their newly found love for digital civil rights with a vigil in front of the court. This civil rights friendly position will hopefully be maintained if the Greens get back into government.

The lawyers will turn their attention to interpreting the judgement in the next few weeks and draw the relevant conclusions. Although the Federal Trojan was positively slaughtered, important other decisions on basic rights are imminent. However, we don't expect Wolfgang Schäuble (the Federal Interior Minister) or Dieter Wiefelspütz (the German Social Democratic Party’s expert on domestic policy) to suddenly take our constitution seriously. The new basic right will only come to life if it is aggressively defended and exercised.

English

Bundesverfassungsgericht schafft neues Grundrecht auf digitale Intimsphäre

2008-02-27 00:00:00, presse

Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat heute dem nordrhein-westfälischen Verfassungsschutzgesetz, das die sogenannte Online-Durchsuchung von Computern und anderen informationstechnischen Systeme erlauben sollte, eine deutliche Absage erteilt. Zugleich definierten die Richter ein neues Grundrecht, das den Bürger in seinem digitalen Leben weitgehend vor dem Zugriff des Staats schützt.

Mit ihrer Entscheidung stellten die Karlsruher Richter klar, daß die Gesellschaft ein berechtigtes Interesse an der Vertraulichkeit und der Integrität der informationstechnischen Systeme hat, auf die sie zunehmend angewiesen ist. Die Gedanken seien auch dann frei, wenn sie auf einem Computer gespeichert sind. Dieses Recht auf eine digitale Intimsphäre fordert der Chaos Computer Club (CCC) seit über 25 Jahren. Der Schutz des digitalen Ichs betreffe nicht nur Computer, sondern auch Telefone und sonstige vernetzte Geräte. Es bleibt zu hoffen, daß die Internetausdrucker in der Politik kein weiteres Vierteljahrhundert brauchen, bis sie dieses neue Grundrecht verinnerlichen, kommentierte der Sprecher des CCC, Dirk Engling.

In der mündlichen Urteilsbegründung betonten die Verfassungsrichter, daß auch das systematische Abgreifen von Kommunikationsdaten und die Erstellung von Persönlichkeitsprofilen schwere Grundrechtseingriffe sind. Wir gehen davon aus, daß diese Bewertung auch bei der verfassungsrechtlichen Beurteilung der Vorratsdatenspeicherung zur Anwendung kommt, sagte CCC-Sprecher Dirk Engling. Gegen die im Januar in Kraft getretene Vorratsdatenspeicherung liegen bereits mehrere Verfassungsbeschwerden vor.

Die Richter haben dem Gesetzgeber eine schallende Ohrfeige für seine grundrechtswidrige Generalermächtigung zum Ausschnüffeln von informationstechnischen Systemen aller Art verpaßt, so Dirk Engling weiter. Nur noch in sehr engen Grenzen wird das Ausspionieren von Festplatten möglich sein, das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat einen digitalen Schutzschirm über das virtuelle Ich der Menschen gespannt.

Auch die Auswertung von beschlagnahmten Daten wird sich an den Maßstäben des neuen Grundrechts orientieren müssen. Die Prozeduren der Ermittlungsbehörden bei der digitalen Beweiserhebung gehören jetzt umgehend auf den Prüfstand. Die in letzter Zeit üblich gewordene Durchfilzung von Festplatten durch Privatfirmen ist damit klar verfassungswidrig. Zudem legten die Richter fest, daß informationeller Selbstschutz durch Verschlüsselung von Daten ein Recht ist, das nur unter sehr engen Voraussetzungen ausgehebelt werden darf.

Der Chaos Computer Club war zur Karlsruher Urteilsverkündung wieder mit dem Symbol des Widerstands gegen die Online-Durchsuchung, den schwarz-rot-goldenen Bundestrojaner, angereist. Die Grünen, die zuletzt durch ihre klägliche Rolle beim Durchwinken der Spitzelgesetze Otto Schilys und ihre Zustimmung zum Hackertoolverbot auffielen, versuchten ihre neu entdeckte Liebe für die digitalen Bürgerrechte durch eine Mahnwache vor dem Gericht zu demonstrieren. Hoffentlich bleibt diese bürgerrechtsfreundliche Haltung bestehen, falls die Grünen erneut in Regierungsverantwortung stehen.

Die Juristen werden sich in den nächsten Wochen mit der Interpretation des Urteils befassen und die Folgen herausarbeiten müssen. Der Bundestrojaner wurde zwar regelrecht notgeschlachtet, doch weitere wichtige Grundrechtsentscheidungen stehen an. Wir erwarten jedoch nicht, daß Schäuble und Wiefelspütz plötzlich die Verfassung ernstnehmen. Das neue Grundrecht wird erst durch aggressive Verteidigung und Anwendung lebendig, hier sind wir alle gefragt, so Dirk Engling.