Deutsch

Calendar

New proof for surveillance: CCC extends legal complaints against intelligence services and German government

2014-07-16 00:09:00, henning

Investigations by Federal Prosecutor General Harald Range are becoming more urgent after new publications expose data collection explicitly targeting at least one of the Tor servers operated by the Chaos Computer Club (CCC) in Germany, feeding the data of the users directly into the surveillance systems of the NSA. The CCC is extending the existing legal complaint against those responsible at the intelligence services and the German government with the new facts and requests to prosecute the illegal intelligence activity against the CCC and all affected users of the anonymization network Tor.

The publication of parts of the search pattern code used in the NSA system XKeyscore [1], [3] provides proof that data traffic to and from a CCC-operated server of the Tor network was explicitly collected and stored. While other documents from the Snowden publications show that currently even the NSA isn't able to entirely de-anonymize Tor, the fact of the now-documented surveillance of the CCC server demonstrates beyond doubt the agressive surveillance with which the NSA targets German citizens.

The legal complaint [2] filed and published in February together with the International League for Human Rights (ILMR) and Digitalcourage e. V. was signed by 1.800 people. So far, it has not been used by the Federal Prosecutor General to initiate prosecution. The authorized lawyers so far haven't been provided with either information or justification for the decision to not open the investigations about the mass surveillance yet.

Why Harald Range is acting on the wiretapping of a single prominent person but doesn't act on the mass-surveillance of large parts of the entire population is beyond comprehension. For this reason we're urging the Federal Prosecutor General to stop blocking investigations and start doing his job to avoid public ridicule. The irresponsible protraction of investigations regarding the crimes and offenses as part of the intelligence scandals enhances suspicion of the Federal Prosecutor General bowing to German as well as international intelligence services on judiciary grounds as well.

The current discussion about spies in the German Bundestag and in German ministries distracts from the real scandal: the mass surveillance of the population and the criminalization of those users who want to protect themselves from the spying. The coordinator for US intelligence activities in Germany, who has been asked by German government to leave the country, should be first questioned by the Federal Prosecutor General, and, if appropriate, charged and brought to trial.

 

Links:

 

Contact:

H.-Eberhard Schultz and Claus Förster, solicitors
Haus der Demokratie und Menschenrechte, Greifswalder Str. 4, 10405 Berlin
Telefon: 030 43725026, Fax: 030 43725027, cf(at)cfoerster.de

English

Neue Dokumente belegen Überwachung: CCC erweitert Strafanzeige gegen Geheimdienste und Bundesregierung

2014-07-16 00:09:00, henning

Nachdem durch neue Veröffentlichungen bekannt wurde, daß Daten von und zu mindestens einem der Tor-Server, der vom Chaos Computer Club (CCC) in Deutschland betrieben wird, offenbar direkt in den Überwachungssystemen der NSA landen, sind Ermittlungen des Generalbundesanwalts Harald Range nun dringend geboten. Der CCC erweitert daher seine Strafanzeige vom Februar gegen die Verantwortlichen bei den Geheimdiensten und in der Bundesregierung um die neuen Fakten und fordert, die verbotene geheimdienstliche Agententätigkeit gegen den CCC und alle betroffenen Nutzer des Anonymisierungsnetzwerks Tor zu ahnden.

Durch die Veröffentlichung von Teilen des Suchmuster-Programmcodes des NSA-Systems XKeyScore [1], [3] wurde beweisbar, daß der Datenverkehr zu einem vom CCC betriebenen Server des Anonymisierungsnetzes Tor gezielt erfaßt und gespeichert wird. Aus anderen Dokumenten aus dem Snowden-Fundus ist zwar klar geworden, daß auch die NSA derzeit nicht in der Lage ist, Tor großflächig zu deanonymisieren. Die Tatsache der nunmehr dokumentierten Überwachung des CCC-Servers beseitigt jedoch jegliche letzte Zweifel darüber, ob die NSA auch gegen Ziele in Deutschland aggressiv vorgeht.

Die gemeinsam mit der Internationalen Liga für Menschenrechte e. V. und Digitalcourage e. V. erstellte Strafanzeige, [2] der sich 1.800 Menschen angeschlossen haben, ist bisher vom Generalbundesanwalt nicht für Ermittlungen genutzt worden. Bis heute liegt den bevollmächtigten Rechtsanwälten über die Entscheidung, keine Ermittlungen wegen der Totalüberwachung einzuleiten, weder eine Information noch eine Begründung vor. Warum Harald Range zwar wegen des Abhören des Mobiltelefons einer prominenten Einzelperson tätig wird, jedoch nicht bei der massenhaften Überwachung großer Teile der gesamten Bevölkerung, ist nicht nachvollziehbar.

Daher fordern wir den Generalbundesanwalt auf, seine Arbeit aufzunehmen und endlich tätig zu werden, um sich nicht vollends lächerlich zu machen. Das unverantwortliche Hinauszögern der Ermittlungen über die Verbrechen und Vergehen in dem Geheimdienst-Skandal verstärkt den Verdacht, daß der Generalbundesanwalt den Kotau gegenüber in- und ausländischen Diensten auch noch in der Justiz fortsetzt.

Durch die aktuelle Diskussion um einzelne Spione im Bundestag und in den Ministerien droht der eigentliche Skandal unterzugehen: die massenhafte Überwachung und die Kriminalisierung derjenigen, die sich vor der Geheimdienst-Kontrolle im Internet schützen wollen. Der Verantwortliche für die US-Geheimdienst-Aktivitäten in Deutschland, den die Bundesregierung nun gebeten hat, das Land zu verlassen, sollte vom Generalbundesanwalt zunächst befragt, gegebenenfalls angeklagt und vor ein Gericht gestellt werden.

 

Links:

 

Kontakt:

H.-Eberhard Schultz und Claus Förster, Rechtsanwälte
Haus der Demokratie und Menschenrechte, Greifswalder Str. 4, 10405 Berlin
Telefon: 030 43725026, Fax: 030 43725027, cf(at)cfoerster.de